Thirteen teams have been confirmed for the 2024 Mayo Women's Football League, with three new entrants this season.

It's a debut at this level for Claremorris AFC, with Ballina Town and Westport United making a return after an absence of a number of years.

Westport United dominated women's football in Mayo in the late 1990s and early 2000s.

Ballina Town enjoyed success too, winning the WFAI Intermediate Cup in 2014.

For Claremorris, this is new ground but coming from a base of strong Under 17 and 19 teams, they'll be more than up for the challenge of senior football.

This brings to 13 the number of clubs signed up for women's football in Mayo this season.

The continued growth was welcomed by Mayo Women's League secretary Joe King.

“Last year we saw Kilmore return to the league and Crossmolina entering a team for the first time. To see three additional clubs this year is phenomenal and testament to the wonderful work being done at underage level in the county,” he said.

“Girls, as they progress from the underage groups, should have the opportunity to continue playing football, same as their male peers do. Full credit to those clubs who are stepping up and fielding senior teams, making for more competitive leagues.

“In five years we have gone from having two teams to 10 last year, and now it has grown to 13 for the season ahead, which is significant progress.”

There will be two divisions this year, with the leagues kicking off in mid-March.

The Premier Division will comprise of reigning champions Manulla, Castlebar Town, Swinford, Kiltimagh Knock, Conn Rangers and Straide & Foxford.

Contesting Division 1 are Ballinrobe, Killala, Kilmore, Crossmolina, Ballina Town, Claremorris and Westport.


Latest Sport