Following last night’s Connacht GAA Convention, Vincent Neary of Bonninconlon has assumed the role of President of the organisation.

Having held numerous positions within Mayo GAA over the years, Vincent has also served his club as a player and administrator.

He is an officer on the North Mayo GAA Board, Secretary of Mayo GAA Board, referee at club, county and inter county level, and is also Leash- Uachtaran of Comhairle Connacht over the past three years.

He takes over from outgoing President John Murphy from Tubbercurry after three years at the helm.

As part of his final address, John highlighted some of his fondest memories from his time as President – Sligo’s recent U20 Connacht championship success, recent victories for New York in both codes both provincially and nationally, and the success of Tooreen, Easkey and St Thomas’ on the club scene in recent years.

In a post on social media, Mayo GAA wished Vincent the very best of luck in his new role.

(pic Mayo GAA) 


Latest Sport