Mayo GAA senior football manager Kevin McStay has made three changes to his team from that which was defeated by Roscommon in the Connacht GAA semi-final, for their opening game in the Championship Round-Robin against Kerry this Saturday, May 20th at 3:00pm in Fitzgerald Stadium in Killarney.


David McBrien returns to the starting fifteen and will make his championship debut at full-back after recovering from an injury that kept him out of the Connacht semi-final.  McBrien replaces Eoghan McLoughlin in the Mayo defence.  Sam Callinan at corner-back will also make his championship debut getting the nod on this occasion ahead of Donnacha McHugh.  James Carr is also back to full fitness and is named ahead of vice-captain Tommy Conroy in the Mayo full forward line.  


The rock-solid Colm Reape continues in goal with McBrien and Callinan now partnered by the tigerish Jack Coyne in the Mayo full-back line.  Captain Paddy Durcan, Conor Loftus and the ever-reliable Stephen Coen are listed to start in the Mayo half-back line.  Stephen Coen will make his 100th League & Championship appearance for Mayo on Saturday.  He made his debut against Kerry on 1st February 2015 in the Allianz National Football League.  Matthew Ruane and Diarmuid O'Connor will anchor the Mayo midfield once again with a familiar look to the Mayo front sextet.  Fionn McDonagh, Jack Carney and Jordan Flynn were regulars, and all impressed during the Allianz League with Aidan O'Shea, James Carr and former All-Star Ryan O'Donoghue named to start in the Mayo full forward line.  Adian O' Shea will make his 80th championship appearance on Saturday.  The Breaffy club man is now 9th on the all-time list behind Stephen Cluxton on 113 with Andy Moran the only Mayo player ahead of him on 84 championship appearances.

Mayo were defeated by Kerry in last year's All-Ireland Quarter Final 1-18 to 0-13 at Croke Park however, they got revenge in Round 3 of the NFL this year when they defeated the Kingdom in Hastings Insurance MacHale Park by 2-14 to 1-10.  Jack O'Connor has managed Kerry to victory in all five championship games against Mayo during his three terms as Kerry manager (2004, 2005, 2006, 2011 and 2022).  Sean Hurson from Tyrone is down to officiate at the game.


Midwest radio will have live commentary with thanks to O’Halloran & O’Brien Construction in the UK with Michael D McAndrew and Martin Carney. 


The game this weekend is live on GAAGO. Go to   


Get your tickets here:



Mayo senior football team is as follows.

  1. Colm Reape Knockmore
  2. Jack Coyne Ballyhaunis
  3. David Mc Brien Ballaghaderreen
  4. Sam Callinan Ballina Stephenites
  5. Paddy Durcan Castlebar Mitchels
  6. Conor Loftus Crossmolina Deel Rovers
  7. Stephen Coen Hollymount/Carramore
  8. Matthew Ruane Breaffy
  9. Diarmuid O'Connor Ballintubber
  10. Fionn McDonagh Westport
  11. Jack Carney Kilmeena
  12. Jordan Flynn Crossmolina Deel Rovers
  13. Aidan O'Shea Breaffy
  14. James Carr Ardagh
  15. Ryan O'Donoghue Beal an Mhuirthead


Rory Byrne Castlebar Mitchels

Tommy Conroy The Neale

Jason Doherty Burrishoole

Enda Hession Garrymore

Darren McHale Knockmore

Donnacha McHugh Castlebar Mitchels

Eoghan McLaughlin Westport

Kevin McLoughlin Knockmore

Padraig O'Hora Ballina Stephenites

Paul Towey Charlestown Sarsfields

Bob Tuohy Castlebar Mitchels 


Manager: Kevin McStay

Selectors: Stephen Rochford, Donie Buckley, Liam McHale and Damien Mulligan


Latest Sport