Roscommon suffered defeat to Derry today in the U20 All Ireland B Hurling Championship final in Croke Park.

Derry started fast with a goal after two minutes frolm centre forward Sagdae Melaugh.

James Friel added points to put them 1-3 to 0-0 up after five minutes, before Sean Canning got Roscommon's first point.

The sides were level on 12 minutes when corner forward Liam Óg Coyle hit the net for Roscommon - the scores now 1-3 each.

Scores were exchanged as Rossie sharp shooter Patrick Fallon grew into the game, putting his team ahead twice in the game on 13 and 31 minutes.

Roscommon went into the break behind, but three from Fallon put them ahead after the restart.

This was when Derry started to put on the burners, hitting four points on the spin in the middle third of the second half.

The scoring was rounded off with a goal from Keelan Doherty on 54 minutes to put the Ulster men 2-16 to 1-13 up.

From here, Jack Cassidy got a third Derry goal just before time, putting the game to bed.

Sean Canning  goaled for Roscommon late into added time to bring the margin back to six but it was too late as Derry were runaway champions.

Unfortunate for a tough Roscommon side, who had to watch the Richie McElligot cup head for Ulster.


Full time score from Croke Park:

Derry 3-17 (26) Roscommon 2-14 (20)


Latest Sport