Mayo have won the Allianz National Football League Division One title following victory over Galway in Croke Park today.

Kevin McStay's side ran out three point winners, claiming the league for the first time since 2019.

Colm Reape, who was named player of the match, kicked off the scoring with a free after three minutes - and the Knockmore goalkeeper would go on to hit 0-3 for the day.

Galway's first score came after eight minutes through Sean Kelly, and they would wait another 13 minutes for their second from Shane Walsh.

Ryan O'Donoghue hit three first half points to help Mayo into the lead, while Jordan Flynn chipped in with a trademark effort from the edge of the D.

Mayo were ahead by five after 20 minutes, but Walsh began to find his range for Galway simultaneously coming with the introduction of Damien Comer after half an hour.

At half time just three separated the sides, 0-8 to 0-5 to the green and red.

Robert Finnerty hit two after the restart to bridge the gap to a point, with O'Donoghue putting Mayo three ahead again minutes later.

Peter Cooke and Tomo Culhane threatened for Galway, while Reape was kept busy with some top drawer saves.

Jack Coyne popped up with a point nearing added time to put the Mayo lead out to four points, which was enough to squash a Galway fightback.

Walsh ended up with 0-5 for Galway, as O'Donoghue was the man in form for Mayo on the board with 0-7 to his name.

Mayo now head for a Connacht championship meeting with Roscommon next weekend - Galway await the winner. 


Full time score from Croke Park:

Mayo 0-14 Galway 0-11 


Latest Sport