DCU are Division One League Champions following their 0-14 to 1-9 victory over UL in last night’s final in O’Dempsey’s GFC Laois.

Last year, UL won the O’Connor Cup with DCU now winning back to back Division One titles against the same opposition in both finals.

Both sides were well represented with Connacht players.

Dearbhaile Beirne (Leitrim), Sarah Cunney, Helen Monaghan (both Sligo), Ciara Needham (Mayo) all represented UL, and they had plenty of Galway players in Aoife Molloy (captain), Ellen Power and Aoife O’Rourke.

Kilkerrin Clonbeirne’s Nicola Ward, Louise Ward and Ailish Morrissey are all part of the UL team but didn’t feature last night with an All Ireland Club final imminent.

Leah Fox (Leitrim), Claire Dunne and Jade Lyons (both Sligo) all featured for the victorious UL, along with the Mayo trio of Maria Reilly, Jenna Mortimer and Maria Cannon.

The draw for the O’Connor Cup will be made at 12 midday today.  


Latest Sport