Inaugural champions Westmeath have claimed six slots on the first ever Tailteann Cup Team of the

Year which has been announced today.


There are five counties in all who make up the Tailteann Cup Champion 15 after the successful

staging of the new football championship in 2022 for teams competing in Divisions 3 and 4 who did

not make their provincial final.


The semi-finals and finals at Croke Park were dramatic high-scoring affairs with Westmeath seeing

off Cavan to claim the new cup and guaranteeing a place in the Sam Maguire Championship in 2023

in the process.


The Lake County capture six positions on the first ever Tailteann Cup Team of the Year - led by

veteran star John Heslin, who over the course of the campaign became Westmeath’s all-time top


Joining him are defenders Jack Smith, Kevin Maguire and Ronan Wallace, with midfielder Sam

McCartan acknowledged and influential centre forward Ronan O’Toole completing their haul.

Cavan stalwarts Killian Clarke and Gearóid McKiernan lead the Breffni contingent with Jason

McLoughlin and Gerard Smith joining them.

Aidan Devaney’s consistency and his shot stopping heroics that saw him save three penalty kicks

gives him the nod for in goal and he is joined by county men Evan Lyons and Seán Carrabine.

Offaly star Anton Sullivan and razor-sharp Leitrim attacker Keith Beirne complete the selection.

Tailteann Cup TOTY Selection - Westmeath (6), Cavan (4), Sligo (3), Offaly (1), Leitrim (1)

  1. Aidan Devaney (Sligo)
  2. Jack Smith (Westmeath)
  3. Kevin Maguire (Westmeath)
  4. Evan Lyons (Sligo)
  5. Jason McLoughlin (Cavan)
  6. Ronan Wallace (Westmeath)
  7. Killian Clarke (Cavan)
  8. Sam McCartan (Westmeath)
  9. Seán Carrabine (Sligo)
  10. Gearóid McKiernan (Cavan)
  11. Ronan O’Toole (Westmeath)
  12. Anton Sullivan (Offaly)
  13. Gerard Smith (Cavan)
  14. John Heslin (Westmeath)
  15. Keith Beirne (Leitrim)

Latest Sport