The GAA has confirmed the referee and match officials for the 2022 GAA Football All-Ireland Final on July 24th with Seán Hurson confirmed as the referee for the senior decider.


Hurson from Tyrone will take charge of the All-Ireland senior final between Galway and Kerry in what will be Seán’s first Senior Final.


A member of the Galbally Pearses club, he has also refereed the Electric Ireland All-Ireland Minor Final in 2018, EirGrid All-Ireland U20 Football Final in 2021 and the AIB All-Ireland Club Football final in 2022 between Kilcoo and Kilmacud Crokes.  


In this years Football Championship, Seán has refereed the Ulster Provincial Final between Donegal and Derry, All-Ireland Championship quarter-final of Cork v Dublin, Leinster Championship semi-final of Kildare v Westmeath, and New York v Sligo in the Connacht Championship.  He also refereed Allianz league matches featuring Monaghan v Mayo,  Kildare v Dublin, Donegal v Monaghan and Derry v Galway.


His umpires on the day will be Mark Coney (Ardboe O ‘Donovan Rossa), Mel Taggart (Clonoe O’Rahilly’s), Cathal Forbes (Ardboe O ‘Donovan Rossa) and Martin Conway (Moortown St Malachy’s).


Roscommon’s Paddy Neilan will be the standby referee. The other linesman is Barry Cassidy (Derry), and the Sideline Official will be Seán Laverty (Antrim).



24.07.2022 (Sun)

GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Championship Final

Ciarraí v Gaillimh        RTÉ/SKY Sports         

Páirc an Chrócaigh, 15.30                  


Referee:          Seán Hurson (Tír Eoghain)                             

Stand By:         Paddy Neilan (Ros Comáin)                           

Linesman:        Barry Cassidy (Doire)                         

Sideline:          Seán Laverty (Aontroim)

Umpires:         Mark Coney, Mel Taggart, Cathal Forbes, and Martin Conway.