Ireland head coach Andy Farrell has named five uncapped players in his squad for the upcoming tour of New Zealand.

Leinster trio Joe McCarthy, Jimmy O'Brien and Ciarán Frawley have all been included, as has Munster loosehead Jeremy Loughman and Connacht flanker Cian Prendergast.

All five have been involved in Irish camps over the course of this season, and have been included among the 40-man group that will travel to New Zealand for a three-Test series, as well as two tour matches against the Maori All Blacks.

The other Connacht players in the squad are Bundee Aki, Mack Hansen, Finlay Bealham and Ballina’s Dave Heffernan.

Meanwhile, Connacht senior coach Pete Wilkins has been drafted in to work on Farrell's coaching team for the extended tour.

Johnny Sexton will captain the squad, but Ronan Kelleher and Robert Balacoune both miss out through injury.

Ireland's first test against the All Blacks takes place on July 2nd.