Mayo GAA U17 football manager Sean Deane has named his side to face Leitrim in the opening round of the Connacht GAA U17 football championship.  Balla GAA's David Dolan is named in goals with Rio Mortimer, son of former Mayo senior footballer Kenneth Mortimer named at corner-back with John Mac Monagle from Castlebar Mitchels and Westport's Loran Silke in the other corner.  Claremorris have three players named on the starting fifteen with the club making huge strides in the Mayo GAA Bord na nÓg competitions.  The half-back line includes Liam Maloney from CLG Chill Chomáin, Colm McHale from Bohola Moy Davitts and Paul Gilmore from Claremorris.  Jack Keane from Hollymount/Carramore and Luke Feeney from Ballina Stephenites are named in a formidable midfield partnership.  Upfront Cathal Keavney from Parke Keelogues Crimlin, Dylan Gallagher from Davitts and Diarmuid Duffy from Ballinrobe are all included in the half-forward line.  The inside line sees James Maheady from Crossmolina Deel Rovers, Ronan Clarke from Bohola Moy Davitts and dual star Niall Hurley from Claremorris completing the full-forward line.  The game against Leitrim this Friday, April 22 has a 7:00pm thrown-in time at James Stephens Park in Ballina. Aaron Clogher from Roscommon is the referee for this game. 


Diarmuid Duffy and Ronan Clarke lead the team as joint captains. The game will be live streamed on Connacht GAA


You can get your tickets here:



The Mayo U17 teams as follows:


1 David Dolan Balla

2 Rio Mortimer Claremorris

3 John MacMonagle Castlebar Mitchels

4 Lorcan Silke Westport

5 Liam Maloney Cill Chomáin

6 Colm McHale Bohola Moy Davitts

7 Paul Gilmore Claremorris

8 Jack Keane Hollymount/Carramore

9 Luke Feeney Ballina Stephenites

10 Cathal Keavney Parke Keelouges Crimlin

11 Dylan Gallagher Davitts

12 Diarmuid Duffy (JC) Ballinrobe

13 James Maheady Crossmolina Deel Rovers

14 Ronan Clarke (JC) Bohola Moy Davitts

15 Niall Hurley Claremorris



16 Conor Meaney Westport

17 Conor Lydon Garrymore

18 Evan Cosgrove Kiltimagh

19 Oliver Armstrong Knockmore

20 Rory Conway Ballycroy

21 Tom Lydon The Neale

22 Oisin Cronin Balla

23 Sean O Dowd Kilmovee Shamrocks

24 Dara Hurley Claremorris

25 Jack Prendergast Ballintubber

26 Luca Duggan Ballina Stephenites

27 James Noonan Westport

28 Zac Collins Islandeady

29 Ciaran Murphy Westport

30 Patrick Flannelly Castlebar Mitchels

31 Conor Kelly Kilmeena

32 John Finn Mayo Gaels

33 Darragh Hoban Westport

34 Adam Boukioud Bohola Moy Davitts


Manager: Sean Deane

Maor Fóirne: Gary Ruane

Selectors: Danny O'Toole, Shane McCann & Martin Costello

Physio: Sean Brogan

S&C Eoghan McGrath