Connacht U20 Football Final

Roscommon 2-11 Mayo 1-07


Roscommon captured the Eirgrid Connacht U20 Football title in Elverys MacHale Park this evening as they saw off Mayo by ten points.

Roscommon were full value for the win and second half goals from James Fitzpatrick and Adam McDermott sealed the deal for Liam Tully's side.

The home side started the brightest and led by three points to no score after ten minutes through points from Jack Carney, Jack Mahon and Connell Dempsey.

Roscommon's opening score didn't come until the 17th minutes but they hit five without reply while mayo went 22 minutes without a score to go in trailing 5-4 at the break.

Mayo had plenty of possession but just didn't play enough direct football to cause any real problems for Roscommon.

Roscommon opened up the hosts more in the second half and got rewarded with two majors to put distance between the sides.

Jack Mahon missed a penalty which would have brought them back into it.

Connell Dempsey did convert a penalty approaching the hour mark but it was little too late for Maurice Sheridan's side who were bitterly dissappointed but credit to Roscommom who got their first Connacht title at this grade for six years.