Seán Carroll from Coolera/Strandhill was elected as Sligo GAA’s new Chairperson at last night’s Annual Convention.

The Convention was held online with Carroll, who had been secretary of the Sligo GAA Central Competition Control Committee, defeating incumbent Chair Brendan Leonard by 55 votes to 40.

Shamrock Gaels Cormac Kearins was elected as the county board’s new Treasurer in succession to Peter Greene.

Kearins, who comes from a very well-known GAA family in Sooey, defeated Gerry O’Connor (St Pat’s) by 73 votes to 23.

In the night’s other elections, Joe Taaffe retained his Central Council seat ahead of John Niland (Curry).

The other main county executive officers were all returned unopposed.

Tubbercurry’s Dermot Gannon and Padraig Clancy (St Michael’s) were elected as delegates to Connacht Council.

Clancy will also be the senior men’s footballers’ kitman for 2021.

There was confirmation too that Sligo GAA Tommy Kilcoyne was stepping down from his honour role as President after five years in the position. His successor will be named at a later date.

Sligo GAA Co Executive 2021

Chairperson: Seán Carroll

Vice-Chair: Declan Rouse

Secretary: Bernadine McGauran

Assistant Secretary: Keith Henry

Treasurer: Cormac Kearins

Assistant Treasurer: David Cummins

PRO: Bart Barrins

Coaching Officer: Peadar Niland

Irish Cultural & Language Officer: Joe Brady

Children’s Officer: Terrence Marren

Development Officer: Richard Brennan.