AIB All-Ireland Club Camogie champions Sarsfields and beaten finalists Slaughtneil account for 12 of the 15 players named on the team of the the year today.

Galway outfit Sarsfields won their maiden All-Ireland with a 1-8 to 10 points victory over their Derry opponents at Croke Park last month.

Both clubs have six players on the team of the year, with Sarsfields full-forward Siobhan McGrath and Slaughtneil wing-back Aoife Ní Chasaide in line for player of the year honours.

Clare club Scariff-Ogonnelloe have two representatives on the 15, including midfielder Mairéad Scanlan, while St Vincents forward Niamh Hetherton completes the line-up.

Both Scanlan and Hetherton are on the shortlist for player of the year.


Latest Sport