The Kilmovee community celebrated their 10th Annual10k in aid of Mayo Roscommon Hospice and Kilmovee Shamrocks GAA on Saturday afternoon. Community spirit and brilliant local organization came together once again on a lovely April day, providing all those taking part with a wonderful sporting occasion.

Racing conditions were excellent – calm and dry for the record field of 596 runners and walkers on this flat course which has one short uphill section in the final kilometre at Kilcashel.

The race winner was Ray Hynes (Donore Harriers) in 32:49 just outside the course record of 32:00 set in 2017 by Gary Thornton (GCH). Ray also won in 2018. He was just under a minute ahead of Alan Kelly (Ballina AC ) in second place 33:46 with Brendan Conway (Westport AC) third in 34:15.

The first woman finisher was Edel Reilly (Hollymount ) in 39:34.

Colette Tuohy (Mayo AC) who won a National 10k gold medal in her W50 category was second in another great time 39:45 with Sarah Syron  (Mayo AC) an excellent third in 40:06. Their clubmates Angela O’Connor 42:27 and Paula Donnellan 44:30 were next across the line in brilliant form.

Carnacon 8k winner John Higgins was Mayo AC's first finisher – 5th overall in 35:52  with W50 winner Tom Prendergast 37:44 and Tony O’Malley 38:08 close behind.

Mayo AC had 35 competitors in action - a great turnout from the club and some achieved personal best finish times – well done to all and congratulations to the prizewinners.

It was the third event in the 2019 Mayo AC Club League, and points achieved by  club members who competed will be added to tables and published soon. The next race in the league kis the Run for Boylo 10k at Foxford on Sunday April 28.   

Complete results from Kilmovee and a full list of Mayo AC finishers is at


Senior Men 1: Ray Hynes  (Donore Harriers ) 32:49 2:  Alan Kelly (Ballina AC) 33:46(33:45) 3: Brendan Conway (Westport  AC) 34.15(34.14)

Senior Women 1 Edel Reilly (Hollymount) 39:34(39.30) 2: Colette Tuohy  (Mayo AC) 39:45(39.42) 3  Sarah Syron (Mayo AC) 40:06(40.03)

Men over 35 1: Sean Burke  Tuam AC) 35:32(35.30) 2: Dwayne Flynn 35:59(35.56)

Women over 35 1: Ciara Duffy 41:45(41.45); 2 Paula Prendergast 44:25(44.22)

Women over 50 1 Angela O’Connor 42:27(42.22), 2 Mary Crowe 43.31(43.31)

Men over 50 1 Tom Prendergast 37:44(37.42),  2 Garret Bracken 38:20(38.17)

U18 Junior Men 1 Rory Gallagher 39:52(39.51); 2 Rory Callaghan 41:57(41.45)

U18 Junior Women 1 Rachel Lawlor 47:15(47.06)

Teachers Competition –  Michael McDonnell Memorial Shield Trophy was won by Bill Carty (Sligo AC) of Killavil National School who finished in 38:20(38.19).


Latest Sport