The Swinford representation on Mayo County Council has been confirmed.

Gerry Murray retained his seat for Swinford yesterday, and one for the Sinn Féin party.

Following a second recount, his three Swinford colleagues were confirmed in the last hour.

They are returning cllrs Adrian Forkan and John Caulfield of Fianna Fáil and also Neil Cruise Fine Gael.

John Sheahan SF has just missed out by a single vote.

Here is how things finished up:

Adrian Forkan - FF - 1,667 votes ELECTED
John Caulfield - FF - 1,643 votes ELECTED
Neil Cruise - FG - 1,637 votes ELECTED
John Sheahan - SF - 1,636 votes

Latest News