Gerry Murray is the first councillor in the Swinford area to be elected to Mayo County Council.

Cllr Murray has been re-elected after the second count, surpassing the quota of 1,744 with 1,818 votes.

The fourth count gets underway shortly in Castlebar, with all remaining candidates in the race.

Adrian Forkan (Fianna Fáil), John Caulfield (FF), John Sheahan (SF) are currently in the position for seats.

Outgoing cllr Neil Cruise will be hopeful to climb the ranks and retain his seat and one for Fine Gael.

Antoinette Peyton (FG) has been eliminated in her first election on the third count.




Latest News