The Minister for Rural and Community Development, Heather Humphreys has today published the first ever Town Centre First plans for 26 towns across every county.

The Connacht towns included are Killlala, Tubbercurry, Gort, Strokestown and Carrick-on-Shannon.

The Plans which were developed in consultation with local communities represent the vision of local people for their area and contain proposals for a diverse range of projects such as redeveloping derelict sites, creating community parks and walkways, boosting SME and tourism potential, and protecting historical landmarks.

A new Town Regeneration Officer is also being appointed to Mayo County Council to drive implementation of the new plan with the support of Government funding through the Rural Regeneration and Development Fund, the Urban Regeneration and Development Fund, the Town and Village Renewal Scheme, the Vacant Property Refurbishment Grant, European Regional Development Fund (ERDF), Town Centre First Heritage Revival (THRIVE) Scheme and the Historic Towns Initiative.

It was also announced today that Ballyhaunis is the next town approved to develop a Town Centre First plan in Phase 2. 

Funding of €30,000 is being allocated to complete a comprehensive town plan to develop Ballyhaunis town centre.

Minister Dara Calleary says it is positive news for both Killala and Ballyhaunis.


Latest News