Mayo native, former Pesident of Ireland Mary Robinson is to feature on a new national stamp. She is one of four Irish women on the new stamps from An Post.

An Post is marking the outstanding contribution of Women in Public Life, just ahead of International Women’s Day next Wednesday and is encouraging everyone to take the opportunity to send a card or a letter to a women who has inspired them or supported them in some aspect of their life.  

Mary Robinson was the first woman President of Ireland, she served as the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights and is Chair of the Elders, Realizing Rights and the Mary Robinson Foundation for Climate Change.

The other three women featured include Susan Denham - barrister, senior counsel, High Court judge and a member of the Supreme Court who also served as Chief Justice of Ireland.

The late Jennie Wyse Power the founding member and former president of Cumann na mBan, long serving Senator and activist against gender discrimination.

And the late Thekla Beere- the first woman appointed Secretary of a government department and in 1970, chaired the Commission on the Status of Women.

The stamps were designed by Dublin based, Oonagh Young of Design HQ and are based on primary source materials, such as newspapers, academic chronicles and posters relating to the women featured. The national ‘N’ rate stamps issue covers postage on the island of Ireland and are available along with a specially designed First Day Cover from and selected post offices.


Latest News