Westport Town Hall features on one of two new stamps issued today by An Post - the latest in a series designed to mark Ireland's Decade of Centenaries.

The stamp set, designed by Ger Garland, depicts the role and impact of political confrontation and civil disobedience during the War of Independence.

One of the stamps features a photograph taken in Westport Town Hall in the Summer of 1920, of an IRA Court in session.

The picture features Conor Maguire presiding - who later became the Chief Justice of Ireland - along with Edward Moane and John O'Boyle.

The picture is reproduced courtesy of the National Museum of ireland, and the N rate stamp covers postage in Ireland.

The stamps and accompanying First Day Cover envelope are available from main Post Offices, the GPO in Dublin and online at www.anpost.com /shop.




Latest News