The Government last night published its 'green list' of 15 countries, which have a similar or lower level of Covid-19 than Ireland.

People arriving to Ireland from these countries will not have to restrict their movements for 14 days, and the list will be reviewed every fortnight.

It does not include Spain, France or Portugal - which are the most popular holiday locations for the Irish.

The countries on the green list are: Malta, Finland, Norway, Italy, Hungary, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Cyprus, Slovakia, Greece, Greenland, Gibraltar, Monaco and San Marino.

In a statement, the Government said the pandemic is not over and the safest thing to do is not to travel.

It Government also said it will continue with plans to strengthen the measures for monitoring passengers arriving into Ireland and processes will be explored to restrict flight or passenger travel in certain circumstances.

The National Public Health Emergency Team advice remains against all non-essential foreign travel, regardless of whether a country is on the 'green list' or not.

Ballygar-based GP Dr Martin Daly, a former president of the Irish Medical Organisation, says the list is not a good idea, as it sends out mixed messages....


Latest News