Ballina, Roscommon and Sligo are among six historic towns nationally that  will share €1m funding under the Historic Towns Initiative 2020.

The Heritage Council, along with the new Minister of State for Heritage and Electoral Reform, Malcolm Noonan announced the details today. 

The €1m in capital funding will help to provide jobs and economic stimulus through heritage-led regeneration and will aid the rebuilding of local economies with heritage as a focal point.

Tralee, Co Kerry, Ramelton, Co Donegal and Clones, Co Monaghan are the other three towns to benefit from toady’s announcement.

The six towns were selected following a competitive process inviting local authorities to propose projects for heritage-led regeneration in one historic town in their area, with the selection process completed in February 2020, but delayed in line with public health restrictions.

For further information on the Historic Towns Initiative, visit


Latest News