Claremorris-based Councillor Richard Finn is the new Cathaoirleach of Mayo County Council.

The Independent Councillor takes over the chain of office from Westport-based FF Councillor Brendan Mulroy.

Councillor Finn defeated the FG candidate John O'Hara by 16 votes to 13 at today's AGM.

At the start of the meeting, a minute's silence was observed to remember the late Detective Garda Colm Horkan from Charlestown who was killed while on duty in Castlerea earlier this month.

Councillors and staff also applauded Gardai and the emergency services for their work during the Covid-19 pandemic.


Latest News