Mayo County Council has confirmed that beach lifeguarding season will begin this Bank Holiday Weekend with lifeguard teams on duty from 12:00pm Saturday on official beaches.

Co Mayo’s official life-guarded beaches are:

  • Keem Bay,
  • Keel Beach,
  • Silver Strand, Doogort,
  • Mulranny Beach,
  • Ross Strand, Killala,
  • Carrowniskey Strand,
  • Carrowmore Beach,
  • Old Head Beach,
  • Bertra Beach.

Beaches can be visited only if they are within the 5km radius of home until Monday, 8th June, when Phase 2 of the Government Roadmap for Re-opening will commence.

Mayo County Council is reminding the public that the 2 metre Social Distancing Rule MUST be observed by all, and this is also the case in any interaction with lifeguards.


Latest News