The Green Party's Saoirse McHugh from Achill Island has missed out on a seat in the next Seanad.

The Cultural and Education panel was filled earlier today.

Former Galway West TD Sean Kyne was the first elected, followed by former Mayo TD Lisa Chambers and her Fianna Fail colleague Malcolm Byrne.

Fine Gael councillor John McGahon became a Senator for the first time while Sinn Féin's Fintan Warfield was re-elected to the Seanad.

Counting is now underway to fill 11 seats on the Agricultural panel, and for the Trinity and NUI panels which will elect three Senators each.

It's expected counting will take until Thursday or Friday to complete.



Latest News