Former Mayo Fianna Fail TD Lisa Chambers has been elected to the Seanad.

Counting resumed this morning to fill the five seats on the Cultural & Educational Panel.

The first person elected to the new Seanad was former  Galway West TD and former government chief whip Sean Kyne.

Two Fianna Fail candidates - Mayo's Lisa Chambers and her party colleague Malcolm Byrne have also both been elected.

Lisa Chambers has taken to Twitter to thank those who voted for her, and says she's looking foward to returning to the Oireachtas as a member of Seanad Eireann.

It looks as though the Green Party's Saoirse McHugh from Achill is unlikely to get elected at this stage, due to a lack of transfers, and Knock native, Aontu candidate Paul Lawless was eliminated last night.

Meanwhile, counting for the Agricultural panel will begin this afternoon, with 11 seats to fill.

There are 25 candidates for the 11 seats - including outgoing Mayo Senator Paddy Burke of FG and Mayo Sinn Fein Councillor Gerry Murray.



Latest News