As focus now switches to the Seanad elections, 7 Mayo candidates are bidding for seats in the Upper House.

Fianna Fail's Lisa Chambers, who lost her Dail seat last month, is contesting the Cultural & Educational Panel - alongside Aontu's Paul Lawless and Saoirse McHugh of the Green Party who were both unsuccessful in the general election in Mayo.

FG Councillor Patsy O'Brien is bidding for a seat on the Industrial & Commercial Panel.

Sinn Fein Councillor Gerry Murray is seeking a seat on the Agricultural Panel, alongside outgoing Mayo Senator Paddy Burke.

Castlebar businesswoman Anne Staunton Barrett is bidding for a seat on the NUI panel, while Castlebar-based Kamal Uddin was unsuccessful in efforts to be nominated by the Labour Party to run for the Industrial & Commercial panel.

A number of outgoing Mayo senators are not contesting the elections - including FG's Michelle Mulherin and John O'Mahoney, Keith Swanick of Fianna Fail, and Rose Conway-Walsh who was elected to the Dail.

In total, there are 60 seats in the Seanad.

49 senators are elected, while 11 are nominated by the incoming Taoiseach.



Latest News