Voting is underway since 7am this morning in the general election, and polling stations will remain open until 10 o'clock tonight.

There are 221 polling stations open across the Mayo constituency, with turnout generally between 13 and 20%.

Some turnout figures up to 11.30 this morning - voter turnout at Swinford national school, Ballinrobe and the Sean Duffy Centre in Ballina were at 15%,

with 14% reported in St Patick's NS and Scoil Raifteiri in Castlebar.

17% turnout reported at Ballina Boys NS and Scoil Phadraig Westport by 11.30, with 21% at Breaffy, ballina by 12 noon, and Belmullet town averaging 20% in the past hour.

Official figures from Scoil Iosa, Ballyhaunis  at 11.30 this morning were 14% turnout, with 12.5% in Claremorris and 13% in Foxford.

Official turnout figures in Galway East up to 12 noon were between 15 and 18% in Tuam, Loughrea, Gort and Athenry and slightly higher in Portumna at 19%

In Galway West up to 12 noon, turnout was generally between 16 and 19% while at one polling station in Salthill, 23% of voters had cast their vote by mid-day.



Latest News