The results of a TG4/Ipsos MRBI constituency poll carried out by TG4 suggests a close contest is in prospect in the 5 seater constituency of Galway West, with all five sitting TDs and as many as five other candidates all in contention to take the seats on offer.

Since 2016, the constituency boundaries have been tweaked once again with some areas transferred to Galway East and some areas of South Mayo taken out.

Fifteen names are on the ballot paper on Saturday week, and as ever, transfer votes will be vital.

The margin of error of this poll is 4%.

Sitting FG TD Hildegade Naughten tops this poll at 13%, followed by FF’s Eamon O’Cuiv and Niall O’Tuathail of the Social Democrats both at 12 %, Green Party candidate Pauline O’Reilly and FG Minister Sean Kyne are both on 10 percent, with Independent deputy Catherine Connolly on 9% and FF’s Ollie Crowe on 8%, Independent deputy Noel Grealish and SF’s Maireasd O’Farrell are both on 7 %, followed by Lab’S Niall McNelus on 5 %, Independent Mike Cubbard is on 3 percent and People Before Profit Candidate Joe Loughnane on 2 %, and Aontu’s Cormac  O’Corcorain on 1 %.

 Conor Burke of Solidarity/ People Before Profit and Independent Daragh Flaherty don’t register in this poll.

But with a sample of just over 500 voters this poll has quite a wide margin of error at 4 percent


Latest News