The campaign for General Election 2020 is underway, with Fine Gael, Fianna Fail and the Green Party officially launching their campaigns today.

The 32nd Dáil was dissolved yesterday, with the Taoiseach announcing that polling day is on Saturday February 8th - this also marked the end of Enda Kenny's 45 years representing Mayo in Dail Eireann.

He's the longest-serving member in the Dáil, having been elected in 1975 in a by-election to take the seat his late father Henry had held for the previous 21 years.

Enda Kenny retained his seat in every general election since then.

He served as Taoiseach from 2011 to 2017, and as Fine Gael leader from 2002 to 2017.

Almost two years ago, Deputy Kenny announced he would be retiring at the next election.

Fine Gael is running three candidates in Mayo this time out - Minister Michael Ring, Senator Michelle Mulherin and former Mayo footballer Alan Dillon.

Fianna Fail's two sitting TDs will contest the election- Dara Calleary and Lisa Chambers.

Sinn Fein will be represented by Senator Rose Conway Walsh, with Achill's Saoirse McHugh hoping to take a seat for the Green Party. Aontú's candidate in Mayo is Paul Lawless, while Joe Daly will contest the election for People Before Profit.

Gerry Loftus, founder of Ireland's Future, has also declared his intention to contest the election, and it's expected other independent candidates may add their names to the ballot paper ahead of polling day in just over 3 weeks time.

Candidates not included in this list can contact Midwest Radio's Newsroom at 094 - 9630985.




Latest News