Galway suckler farmer Pat Murphy was elected Connacht Chairman of the Irish Farmers Association yesterday.

He defeated Roscommon's John Hanley by 991 votes to 815 to take over the position.

Meanwhile, the newly elected president of the IFA is Tipperary farmer Tim Cullinan, who takes up office on 27th January next.

He was elected on the second count last night with 11,497 votes to John Coughlan's 9,937 votes.

Brian Rushe was elected deputy President, following a full recount of votes.


Latest News