The Dail ethics committee has decided to proceed with an investigation into the four Fianna Fail TDs caught up in the voting controversy - including Mayo's Lisa Chambers.

The Irish Times reports that the Members'  Interests Committee met yesterday and agreed to proceed with the inquiry.

The committee will now write to deputies Timmy Dooley, Niall Collins, Lisa Chambers and Barry Cowen to ask if they have any further information to add to what they've already told the clerk of the Dáil as part of an earlier inquiry-  which did not recommend any sanctions.

The ethics committee has the power to recommend a sanction to the Dáil, including a suspension of up to 30 days .

The controversy emerged when deputy Niall Collins voted 6 times for colleague Timmy Dooley while he was absent from the chamber during Dáil votes.

Mayo TD Lisa Chambers said she had mistakenly sat in her colleague Dara Calleary's seat and voted, before moving to her own seat and voting again.



Latest News