A small primary school in Co Roscommon is one of four schools changing to a non-denominational model in time for the new school year.

The schools were facing closure due to declining enrollments.

St John's National School in Lecarrow in south Roscommon -  along with two primary schools in Co Kerry and one in Wexford - have changed patronage, following local campaigns to ensure they remain open.

The Co Roscommon school will reopen as Lecarrow Community National School, after patronage was transferred from the Diocese of Elphin to the Galway & Roscommon Education and Training Board.

This is the first Community National School in Co Roscommon, and is a multidenominational school which welcomes all children from the local community


Latest News