Sinn Fein selected the candidates it will be running in the upcoming local elections in Mayo yesterday afternoon in the TF Royal Theatre Castlebar.

The party has chosen a candidate to run in each of 5 Municipal District areas in the county, a selection convention for the new Westport Municipal District will take place at a later date.

Sitting Claremorris councillor Gerry Murray is the party’s selected candidate for the new Swinford  Electoral area.

Sitting Castlebar councillor Joe McHale is on the party ticket for the new seven seater Castlebar Municipal District .

Sitting West Mayo councillor Teresa Whelan will contest the new 3 seater Belmullet electoral area.

While the party has two new candidates to contest Claremorris and Ballina Municipal Districts.

Natasha Ward will run under the Sinn Fein banner in the Claremorris Municipal District, while Michael Regan is the party’s choice for the new 6 seater Ballina Municipal District


Latest News