Ballinrobe is one of 6 rural towns nationally that have been chosen to take part in a new pilot programme - aimed at encouraging more people to live in rural town centres.

Ballinrobe, Boyle, Banagher, Callan, Castleblaney and Cappoquin will each receive funding of €100,000 to develop proposals and solutions to increase the number of people living in smaller, rural towns.

Mayo County Council welcomes the announcement from Minister for Rural and Community Development, Michael Ring, T.D., that Ballinrobe has been named as one of six towns nationally to receive funding of up to €100,000 towards increasing the number of people living in rural towns.

The council will engage and work alongside the local community and businesses in Ballinrobe to ensure the pilot scheme is a success both for Mayo and the country as a whole. 

Chief Executive of Mayo County Council, Peter Hynes, welcomed the news stating; “We are delighted to see funding of €100,000 coming to South Mayo in order to encourage more people to come and live in our rural towns. This pilot scheme will hopefully lead to many ideas on how we can achieve that goal coming from the local community and local businesses in Ballinrobe.”

Cathaoirleach of Mayo County Council, Cllr Blackie Gavin also welcomed todays announcement; “I am delighted to see Ballinrobe has been chosen for this pilot scheme. The e people of the South Mayo town will no doubt embrace the opportunity  and will bring forward their ideas for how we can entice more people to live in these rural areas.



Latest News