Visa-free travel

  • Short-stay visits into Ireland are now temporarily banned from 11 South American countries and South Africa.

    Visa-free travel ended at midnight and will remain until March 5th as part of government's plan to stop Covid-19 variants arriving.

    Meanwhile the Taoiseach told his parliamentary party last night that people travelling for holidays will face tough sanctions.

    Micheal Martin said 800 people arrived into Dublin Airport on Monday, and almost half were from holiday spots.

    But Pat Dawson from the Irish Travel Agents Association claims international travel is not the big issue.