technological university

  • Technological University status has been granted to Athlone and Limerick Institutes of Technology.

    Minister Simon Harris has confirmed that all students graduating from the facilities from next year will receive university qualifications - however it hasn't been decided when the two ITs will become a technological university.

    It's the third Technological University to be established in the State.

    Roscommon FF Senator Eugene Murphy has welcomed the decision, which he says will have an economic benefit for the region, and will allow many students to stay local and receive a University qualification.


  • A Technological University for Connacht/Ulster is a step closer.

    The government has confirmed it received an application from the Institutes of Technology at Sligo, Galway Mayo and Letterkenny, to set up a university for the region.

    Minister for Higher Education Simon Harris says it's an important day for the West and North West and for higher education generally.

    It's the 5th application for Technological University designation.