Sligo/Leitrim Fine Gael

  • Former Sligo Minister John Perry wants Fine Gael to add him to the ticket in the absence of outgoing candidate Councillor Sinead Maguire.

    Councillor Maguire took the ticket following the resignation of Gerry Reynolds in July and has now stepped down from the ticket for family reasons.

    Councillor Perry has appealed to Fine Gael membership to elect him for the Dail candidacy.

    He cites the large number of first preference votes he received in the 2016 party convention as testament to his electability.

  • Senator Frank Feighin has been added to the Fine Gael ticket to contest the next general election in the Sligo/ Leitrim constituency.

    The additional place on the party’s ticket arose after former TD, Leitrim based Gerry Reynolds pulled out of the race a few weeks ago.

    Former junior minister, Sligo based John Perry was keen to be the replacement candidate for the party.

    However, yesterday Mr Perry, who fought a high-profile battle against the party in the High Court in 2015 to contest the 2016 election, lost out to former TD and sitting Senator Frank Feighan who will now run in this 4 seater constituency.

    Mr Perry had lobbied strongly to contest the next general election and had claimed private polling showed him in a strong position to win a seat.

    However the party opted for Frank Feighan, whose home town of Boyle was moved into the Sligo-Leitrim constituency in the most recent redrawing of boundaries.

  • Two candidates have been selected to run for Fine Gael in next General Election in the Sligo/Leitrim constituency.

    Councillor Sinead Maguire and former TD and Senator Gerry Reynolds were selected at the convention chaired by Minister of State Damien English in the Clayton Hotel last night.

    There were 8 candidates in total seeking nomination. However sitting Senator Frank Feighan withdrew his name from the race last night and told the convention that he would apply to the National Executive to add his name to the ticket, as he was the only sitting member of the Oireachtas on last night’s card.

    The other candidates who sought a nomination last night were former Junior Minister John Perry, Noel Merrick from Riverstown, former Senator Michael Comiskey and Blaine Gaffney.