Pride of Place 2020

  • Four groups will be representing Mayo in the Pride of Place awards which take place online at 7pm this evening.

    Ballina Lions Club, Belcarra Community Group, Westport Men's Shed and the Ballyhaunis "Celebrate Diversity" group are the Mayo nominees for this year's award, which will go ahead online due to the Covid-19 restrictions.

    Pride of Place honours communities across the island of Ireland for their work during the Covid-19 crisis, and are known as the "Oscars of the Community Sector".

    The event is organised by Co-Operation Ireland, and local authorities across the country nominate groups in their communities who they feel have made a significant contribution, working collectively at improving their neighbourhood.

    Marty Morrissey will compere tonight's awards ceremony, will be live streamed on at 7pm.