Padraic Joyce

  • There are four candidates in the running to succeed Kevin Walsh as Galway football manager.


    The deadline for nominations closed on Friday and the shortlist is made up of Padraic Joyce, Liam Kearns, Matt Duggan and Alan Flynn.


    Outgoing U20 manager Joyce was part of Galway’s golden generation in the late 90’s and early 2000’s and has been tipped for the job by many people in the county.


    Former Tipperary manager Liam Kearns - who plotted Galway's downfall in the 2017 All-Ireland SFC quarter-final - is also seen as a strong contender.


    Alan Flynn, who managed the Galway U21s to All-Ireland success in 2013 is also in the running, while Matt Duggan, who led Galway to an All-Ireland JFC final appearance against Kerry this year, is the outsider.

  • Padraic Joyce has named his starting 15 for Sunday's Provincial decider with Mayo.

    1. Bernard Power – Corafinne
    2. Seán Kelly – Maigh Cuilinn
    3. Seán Mulkerrin – Oileáin Árann
    4. Johnny Heaney – Cill Ainnin
    5. Liam Silke – Corafinne
    6. Johnny Duane – Naomh Shéamus
    7. Cillian McDaid – Muine Mheá/Mainistir
    8. Cein D’Arcy – Cathair Loisgreain
    9. Tom Flynn – Baile Átha’n Rí
    10. Paul Kelly – Maigh Cuilinn
    11. Paul Conroy – Naomh Shéamus
    12. Michael Daly – An Creagán/Magh Locha
    13. Ian Burke – Corafinne
    14. Shane Walsh – Cill Chloirín/Cluian Bheirne
    15. Dessie Conneely – Maigh Cuilinn
  • Galway get their Allianz National Football League Division 1 south campaign up and running on Saturday with a trip to the Kingdom.

    The Tribesmen will take on Kerry in Tralee at 3pm on Saturday.

    Galway held a press conference on Monday afternoon looking ahead to the league campaign.

    Manager Padraic Joyce spoke to Midwest Radio's Frank Kearney.


    Galway captain Shane Walsh says it's a great challenge to have Kerry in the opening round.

  • Mayo will be appearing in their first Connacht Final in five years this Sunday when they take on Galway at Pearse Stadium.


    Mayo have two wins under their belt so far in the Championship while Galway received a straight pass through to the decider but all of that will matter very little when the ball is thrown in at 1:30.


    Once again Midwest Radio will have full live commentary with thanks to Ballintubber Store and Agri.

    Padraic Joyce won six Connacht medals as a player but has reached his first final as a manager without his team having to kick a ball.

    Sligo withdrew from last week’s semi-final due to a Covid-19 outbreak in their panel.

    He admits that the circumstances are unusual, but hopes his side will be fresh rather than undercooked against a Mayo team playing their fifth weekend on the trot.

    He has been telling Midwest Sport that Championship always brings the best out of both Galway & Mayo.

  • Padraic Joyce has named a strong Galway side to face Mayo in the Connacht FBD Semi-Final on Sunday.

    Kilkerrin-Clonberne forward Shane Walsh captains the team, with Paul Conroy — who sustained a horror injury in the 2018 championship — named to start at corner forward.

    Johnny Heaney, Tom Flynn and Michael Daly are also down to start as the Tribesmen renew their rivalry with neighbours Mayo.


    1. Conor Gleeson

    2. Colin Murray
    3. Gary O’Donnell
    4. Johnny Heaney

    5. Eamon Brannigan
    6. John Daly
    7. Cillian McDaid

    8. Tom Flynn
    9. Fiontán Ó Curraoin

    10. Patrick Kelly
    11. Michael Daly
    12. Mikey Boyle

    13. Adrian Varley
    14. Shane Walsh
    15. Paul Conroy


    The game throws-in at 2pm on Sunday in Elverys MacHale Park and will be live on Midwest Radio Sport with Michael D. McAndrew & Martin Carney.