Mayo Association Dublin

  • The winners of the Mayo Association Dublin annual awards were announced this evening at a press reception in the capital.

    The Virginia Gallagher Mayo Person of the Year award goes to Martina Jennings, CEO of the Mayo Roscommon Hospice.

    The Young Mayo Person of the Year Award for 2020 goes to Cathal Gavin from Swinford.

    The 17-year old singer has raised money for a number of Mayo charities, and also had the honour of singing for Pope Francis.

    The Meitheal award goes to Ultra Cyclists from Swinford, who have undertaken charity cycles to raise money for local causes.

    The awards will be presented at a gala event in the Ballsbridge Hotel, Dublin on Friday 14th February.

    Tickets are now available online at



    The Mayo Association in Dublin is this evening announcing the winners of their annual awards.

    The Mayo Person of the Year for 2019 is Westport businessman Cathal Hughes.

    Cathal, along with his brothers Harry and Owen, operate Hotel Westport and Westport House as part of the Hughes Group.

    He was also a founder of the Mayo Roscommon Hospice Foundation, and led a national awareness campaign of carbon monoxide poisoning following the tragic death of his son Padraig on Christmas Day 2008.

    The recipient of the 2019 Mayo Meitheal Award is Mayo's Forgotten Famine Girls Remembrance Group.

    The group, chaired by Ballina-based historian and author Terry Reilly, researched the contribution made by 137 Mayo girls who were sent from the workhouses in Mayo to Australia during the Great Famine.

    And the 2019 Young Mayo Person of the Year award goes to Sara McFadden from Turlough, Castlebar, who became Ireland's first visually impaired motorsport navigator for tarmac rallying.

    The awards will be presented at the Yew Tree Ball in the Ballsbridge Hotel on 9th February.