Junior Ministers

  • Mayo County Councillors are requesting that two Junior Ministerial positions come to the county - when the list is announced later this week.

    Councillors are demanding that both Michael Ring of Fine Gael and Fianna Fail Senator Lisa Chambers be appointed Junior Ministers, to redress the imbalance in the new Cabinet.

    Today''s AGM  of Mayo County Council heard angry contributions from Councillors who were disappointed that Mayo has no senior Ministerial post in the new Government.

    Achill-based FF Councillor Paul McNamara said there's huge disappointment across the county that Dara Calleary and Michael Ring were left without portfolios.

    Councillor McNamara told Midwest News that the new Taoiseach Mícheal Martin has totally let down the West of Ireland by not appointing any senior Minister from Donegal down to Clare....

  • The new Junior Ministers will get to work this morning after being appointed yesterday evening, causing some political unrest.

    There are seven from Fianna Fail, seven from Fine Gael and three from the Green Party.

    There are no additional Junior Ministers in Mayo after speculation linking Fianna Fail Senator Lisa Chambers and Fine Gael’s Michael Ring and Alan Dillon.

    Dara Calleary, the Government Chief Whip, has been given the extra responsibility of sport and the Gaeltacht.

    High profile TDs Jim O'Callaghan, Joe McHugh and John Paul Phelan all turned down offers of Junior Ministries.

    While there's been sharp criticism of Taoiseach Micheál Martin from TD Michael Moynihan, who served as Fianna Fáil whip in the last Dáil.

    He's said the Taoiseach has insulted him and the entire community of northwest Cork by passing him over for a role.

    In this region Galway Fianna Fail Deputy Anne Rabbitte and Fine Gael’s Frank Feighan in Sligo-Leitrim have both been given Junior Ministries.

    For Fine Gael there are promotions for Martin Heydon, Colm Brophy, and Peter Burke.

    Patrick O'Donovan and Damien English are retained as Junior Ministers while Josepha Madigan gets a role after being demoted from cabinet.

    The Fianna Fáil appointments sought to address some of the regional imbalance of cabinet.

    Waterford's Mary Butler, Donegal's Charlie McConalogue and Limerick's Niall Collins all get ministries.

    Jack Chambers and Thomas Byrne have been promoted as has Robert Troy.

    The Greens have appointed Carlow Kilkenny TD Malcolm Noonan alongside Dublin TDs Joe O'Brien and Ossian Smyth.