• The Galway minor hurlers to face Clare at 3pm tomorrow in Portlaoise are named.

    Manager Brian Hanley has stuck with the same starting team as the one that defeated Kilkenny last Sunday by three points.

    Ian McGlynn captains the Tribesmen to take on the Banner.

    1. Michael Egan (Cappataggle)
    2. Eanna Davern (Moycullen)
    3. Eoin Lawless (Athenry)
    4. Adam Nolan (Kilnadeema-Leitrim)
    5. Enda Collins (Carnmore)
    6. Ian McGlynn, Captain, (Kilconieron)
    7. Christy Brennan (Clarinbridge)
    8. Liam Leen (Clarinbridge)
    9. Oisin Slevin (Ardrahan)
    10. Colm Cunningham (Moycullen)
    11. Sean McDonagh (Mountbellew Moylough)
    12. Tiernan Killeen (Loughrea)
    13. Gavin Lee (Clarinbridge)
    14. Shane Morgan (Loughrea)
    15. Greg Thomas (Ballygar)
  • Rail services to Mayo, Galway and Sligo are among those under threat unless Irish Rail receives a 460 million euro cash injection.

    That’s according to a front page story this morning in the Irish Independent.

    The Government has been warned that Intercity services face being cut, unless a massive investment is sanctioned to compensate for years of under-funding.