Eirgrid U20 Championship

  • A member of the Kerry under-20 football panel has tested positive for COVID-19.

    The Kingdom are due to play Galway tomorrow in the All Ireland semi-finals.

    A number of other members of the panel are also isolating having been possible close contacts.

  • EirGrid, proud sponsors of the U20 All-Ireland Football Championship, can today reveal through the ‘EirGrid 20 U20 Awards’ details of the top 20 players of this year’s competition. In addition, Jimmy Hyland of Kildare GAA has been awarded the 2018 EirGrid U20 Player of the Year.


    This year, the three nominees for the EirGrid U20 Player of the Year were Kildare duo Jimmy Hyland and Aaron Masterson and Mayo’s Ryan O’ Donoghue. Fans casted their vote on the official GAA Twitter page. Jimmy Hyland from Kildare took the title, receiving a total of 593 votes.


    Kildare made history this year by not only claiming the EirGrid U20 Leinster title, but by capturing the inaugural U20 All-Ireland title. Their efforts have been reflected with six players from this panel selected as recipients of the ‘EirGrid 20 U20 Awards’. (Aaron O’Neil, Mark Dempsey, Mark Barrett, Aaron Masterson, Jimmy Hyland and Brian McLoughlin).


    All-Ireland finalists Mayo have four players included (Patrick O’Malley, Paul Lambert, Cathal Horan and Ryan O’Donoghue) with three coming from Ulster champions Derry (Oisin McWilliams, Callum Brown and Ben McCarron). Kerry also have three recipients (Stefan Okunbor, Daniel O’Brien and Diarmuid O’Connor) of the award. Dublin, who reached the Leinster final, are represented by Nathan Doran, while Roscommon’s Cian McKeon, Armagh’s Ross McQuillan and Cork’s Chris Óg Jones have received an award for their impressive efforts in the provincial Championship.

    EirGrid 20 U20’s


    • Aaron O'Neill (Kildare)
    • Patrick O'Malley (Mayo)


    • Mark Dempsey (Kildare)
    • Mark Barrett (Kildare)
    • Paul Lambert (Mayo)
    • Cathal Horan (Mayo)
    • Stefan Okunbor (Kerry)
    • Daniel O'Brien (Kerry)
    • Nathan Doran (Dublin)


    • Aaron Masterson (Kildare)
    • Diarmuid O'Connor (Kerry)
    • Oisin McWilliams (Derry)


    • Jimmy Hyland (Kildare)
    • Brian McLoughlin (Kildare)
    • Ryan O'Donoghue (Mayo)
    • Callum Brown (Derry)
    • Ben McCarron (Derry)
    • Ross McQuillan (Armagh)
    • Chris Óg Jones (Cork)
    • Cian McKeon (Roscommon)
  • Mayo and Galway meet in the Connacht U20 Football Championship tomorrow in Elverys MacHale Park which promises to be a cracking game.


    The game throws in at 2pm and we’ll have full live commentary with Michael D. McAndrew, Declan O’Reilly and Austin Garvin.


    Our coverage is brought to you by Colm Cosgrove cars Westport.

  • There are two EirGrid under-20 Football Championship finals this afternoon.

    Neighbours Galway and Roscommon clash at Tuam Stadium in the Connacht decider at 2pm.

    While there's a 3pm throw-in for the meeting of Donegal and Tyrone in the Ulster final at Clones.

  • The Galway U20's were denied a place in the All-Ireland final by a Dublin team seeming with firepower, it ended Dublin 2-14 to 1-10 Galway.

    Ciaran Archer led the charge for the Dubs scoring 2-6, the goals dispatched at ease in a crowded Galway defense.

    It's the end of the road for the Connacht champions who kept fighting until the end.

    Dublin go on to face the winner of Cork and Tyrone in the final next weekend.

    Scorers for Dublin:Ciarán Archer 2-6 (0-4f), Ross McGarry 0-3, Brian O’Leary 0-2, David Lacey 0-1, Niall O’Leary 0-1, James Doran 0-1.

    Scorers for Galway:Brian Harlowe 1-0, Tony Gill 0-3, Padraig Costello 0-3 (0-2f), Rory Cunningham 0-2, Matthew Tierney 0-1, Liam Boyle 0-1

  • The Government this morning clarified that ONLY senior inter-county GAA activity will continue in the next six weeks as level 5 restrictions are set to kick in from midnight tonight.

    The decision means that Saturday’s All Ireland U20 football final between Galway and Dublin in Portlaoise is off, as is the Connacht Minor football championship game between Galway and Leitrim scheduled for Friday night in the Connacht GAA Centre.

    The Mayo Minors were due to play Sligo tomorrow week and that has also now fallen victim of these new restrictions.

  • The GAA have confirmed details of the delayed Eirgrid All Ireland Under 20 football final.

    The meeting of Galway and Dublin will take place on Saturday, December 19th at Croke Park.

    It will be a curtain raiser to the All-Ireland Senior Football Final.

    Underage competitions have been allowed to resume this month with the country leaving level-5 restrictions.