Down GAA

  • All-Ireland Qualifiers Round 2
    Mayo 1-16 Down 1-11
    Armagh 2-17 Monaghan 1-12
    Clare 3-17 Leitrim 0-17 
    Westmeath 2-13 Limerick 1-10 
    Laois 1-13 Derry 0-12 
    Tyrone 2-15 Longford 1-14 
    Kildare 1-25 Antrim 0-14 

    Nicky Rackard Cup Final 
    Sligo 2-14 Armagh 2-13

    Lory Meagher Cup Final 
    Leitrim 2-23 Lancashire 2-22 

    Christy Ring Cup Final
    Meath 4-15 Down 2-19 

  • Down Manager Paddy Tally has named his starting 15 for tomorrows Allianz Football League Division 2 North match encounter with Mayo.

    Rory Burns, Gerard Collins, Gerard McGovern, Patrick Murdock, Pierce Laverty, Kevin McKernan, Jonny Flynn, Ryan McEvoy, Caolan Mooney, Ceilium Doherty, Conor Poland, Daniel Guinness, Barry O Hagan, James Guinness, Corey Quinn.

  • Mayo will make the trip to Newry on Saturday evening to face Down in Round 2 of the All-Ireland Football Qualifiers.

    The game in Páirc Esler gets underway at 7pm and Midwest Radio will have full live commentary of the match in association with JJ Burke Car Sales Ballinrobe.

    Michael D. McAndrew and Martin Carney will bring you all the action as it happens.

    We will also have regular updates on Sligo’s Round 2 Qualifier clash with Offally at 2pm on Sunday in Tullamore.

  • Paddy Tally is the new Down senior football manager.

    It's the Tyrone native's first spell in senior intercounty management, but Tally has been part of several successful intercounty setups.

    He was on the backroom team for the Tyrone footballers when they won their first All-Ireland title in 2003, as well as helping out with Down when they reached the decider in 2010.

    More recently, Tally has worked under Kevin Walsh with the Galway footballers.

    He also managed St Mary's University College to the 2017 Sigerson Cup

  • The Mayo County Board have expressed their disappointment at the fixing of Saturday week’s football qualifier game in Newry for 7pm.

    It was confirmed on Tuesday afternoon that the game would be staged at 7pm, much to the surprise and disappointment of many Mayo supporters.

    The Mayo County Board PRO Paul Cunnane told Midwest Sport today that they had emailed the CCCC (Central Competitions Control Committee) on Monday to ask that the game be fixed for an earlier time, given the distance supporters will have to travel to Newry from Mayo.

    He said they were then very disappointed to see that the game had been fixed for 7pm, when the fixtures were confirmed on Tuesday.

    Paul Cunnane told Midwest Sport today that the board is very conscious of supporters’ concerns about the travel time.


    Meanwhile Secretary of Connacht GAA John Prenty is a member of the fixture making committee.

    He told Midwest Sport yesterday there are a number of factors that had to be considered ahead of deciding on the throw in time.

    Down are involved in the Christy Ring Cup Final which is fixed for Croke Park at 2pm on that Saturday. The hurling fixtures, which include the Nicky Rackard Cup Final and Lory Meagher Cup Final, had to take into account counties that are involved in both the football and hurling – like Armagh, Sligo and Leitrim, as well as Down.

    Sunday was also an issue because the Ulster Football Final is on in Clones, with the Down U20s involved in the curtain raiser there.

    The PSNI also had to be consulted about the throw in time and advised the CCCC that an earlier throw in time, such as 5 or 6pm would lead to too much traffic congestion in Newry on a Saturday evening.

  • The Mayo Hurling team to face Down in the final group game of the Allianz Hurling League Division 2B has been named.

    1. Martin Parsons
    2. Aidan Brennan 
    3. Michael Morley 
    4. Danial Huane 
    5. Conor Henry
    6. conor Daly
    7. Tony Sweeney
    8. John Cotter
    9. Conor Murray 
    10. Brian Morley 
    11. Padraig O'Flynn
    12. Bobby Douglas 
    13. Shane Boland
    14. Corey Scahill
    15. Jason Coyne 

  • Round 1 of The Allianz Football League Division 2 sees Mayo host Down in Elvery's MacHale Park tomorrow.

    Paddy Durcan will Captain the team on the day.

    This will be Paddy's 71st appearance in the Green & Red (33 League & 38 Championship).

    Enda Hession from Garrymore makes his first competitive debut with Mayo tomorrow along with Rory Brickenden from Westport  who also makes his first league appearance for Mayo.


    1.Rob Hennelly - Breaffy

    2.Enda Hession - Garrymore

    3.Oisin Mullin - Kilmaine

    4.Lee Keegan - Westport

    5.Michael Plunkett - Ballintubber

    6.Paddy Durcan (Capt) - Castlebar Mitchels

    7.Rory Brickenden - Westport

    8.Matthew Ruane - Breaffy

    9.Diarmuid O'Connor - Ballintubber

    10.Fionn McDonagh - Westport

    11.Kevin McLoughlin - Knockmore

    12.Jordan Flynn - Crossmolina Deel Rovers

    13.Tommy Conroy - The Neale

    1. Cillian O'Connor - Ballintubber

    15.Ryan O' Donoghue - Belmullet


  • Longford official Fergal Kelly has been confirmed as the referee for Mayo's opening NFL Division 2 encounter next Saturday.

    James Horan's side will host Down at 2pm in Elverys MacHale Park next Saturday May 15th.

    The game will be live on Midwest Radio Sport with Michael D. McAndrew & Martin Carney on commentary in association with Ballintubber Stores.

  • Roscommon Senior Football team manager Kevin McStay this evening named his team to play Down in the third round of the Allianz League Division Two in Dr Hyde Park Roscommon on Sunday next at 2pm.

    The team features a number of changes to the team that started against Tipperary last Sunday in Semple Stadium.

    Regular net minder Éire Óg’s Colm Lavin makes way for James Featherston of Roscommon Gaels who will be making his senior inter county debut for Roscommon on Sunday. Fintan Cregg, Ciaráin Murtagh make way for Cian Mc Keon and Finbar Cregg while Brian Stack replaces Seán Mullooly.

    There is a welcome return to the match day panel for Ultan Harney. The Clann na nGael man missed the entire championship campaign for Roscommon last year due to injury.

    The game is preceded by the Ladies Division Three clash between Roscommon and Meath, the first double header involving Roscommon football teams to be played in Hyde Park.

    1          James Featherston Roscommon Gaels

    2          David Murray          Padraig Pearses

    3          John McManus        Roscommon Gaels

    4          Niall McInerney      St Brigid’s

    5          Niall Daly     Padraig Pearses

    6          Fergal Lennon         Clann na nGael

    7          Brian Stack  St Brigid’s

    8          Tadgh O’Rourke      Tulsk

    9          Enda Smith  Boyle

    10        Finbar Cregg           Western Gaels

    11        Niall Kilroy  Fuerty

    12        Conor Devaney (C) Kilbride

    13        Diarmuid Murtagh St Faithleach’s

    14        Ciaran Lennon        Clann na nGael

    15        Cian McKeon           Boyle


    16        Colm Lavin  Éire Óg

    17        Ciaráin Murtagh    St Faithleach’s

    18        Conor Daly   Padraig Pearses

    19        Donie Smith Boyle

    20        Henry Walsh            Kilbride

    21        Hubert Darcy           Kilbride

    22        Ian Kilbride  St Brigid’s

    23        Peter Domican         St Brigid’s

    24        Ronan Daly  Padraig Pearses

    25        Sean McDermott     Western Gaels

    26        Ultan Harney          Western Gaels