Minister Denis Naughten has confirmed that the Government has allocated €2.18m for primary and post primary schools in Counties Roscommon & Galway to purchase equipment which will enable them to integrate digital technology in teaching and learning.

    90 primary schools throughout County Roscommon and 228 in County Galway will benefit from funding of €2,000 per school plus €21.47 per mainstream pupil in primary schools, with additional per capita payments for pupils in DEIS schools, Special Classes and Special School.

    A further 8 second level schools in Co. Roscommon and 42 Co. Galway second level schools will also receive funding of €2,000 per school plus €31.22 per student, with an additional per capita payment for students in DEIS schools.

    Minister Naughten says the investment shows the commitment of Government to support the digital economy.