Armagh GAA

  • A game in commemoration of the late Armagh GAA legend and former Mayo selector John Morrison will take place in Elvery’s MacHale Park on Saturday at 6:30.

    A team of Mayo legends from Morrison’s time with Mayo from 2004 to 2006 will take part in the curtain raiser.

    Ciaran MacDonald, Conor Mortimer, David Brady and Austin O’Malley are all confirmed for the game.

    Following that the Underdogs will clash with Allianz League Champions Mayo at 8pm.

    The Underdogs team will have one Mayo player on it - Fergal Owens from Mayo Gaels while Castlerea St Kevin’s player Christopher Dineen is also in the squad.

  • Diarmuid O'Connor will miss Mayo's All-Ireland Football Qualifier against Armagh on Saturday evening. 

    Midwest Sport learned early this morning that Diarmuid sustained an injury to his wrist in training last night. 

    The following statement has been issued this morning by the Mayo County Board: 

    'The Mayo Senor squad are continuing their preparations for Saturday's qualifier game with Armagh in Elverys MacHale Park. The latest injury news on the squad is as follows: Donal Vaughan, Seamus O'Shea, James Carr and Ger Cafferkey all participated fully in last night's session following recent injuries and all are in contention for selection this weekend. Diarmuid O'Connor suffered a wrist injury in training last night. He was immediately assessed by our medical team and will undergo further examination later this week when the full extent of the injury will be confirmed.'

    It is the second big injury blow to Mayo in as many weeks, with midfielder Matthew Ruane breaking his collarbone in recent weeks. 

  • Mayo clash with Armagh this evening in round three of the football qualifiers.

    James Horan has made four changes from the side that beat Down a week ago.

    Throw-in at Castlebar is at 7 o'clock.

    The game is live on Midwest Radio Sport in association with JJ Burke Car Sales in Ballinrobe.

    Elsewhere, Tyrone make the trip to St. Conleth's Park in Newbridge to play Kildare from 5pm.

    There is a midlands derby in Portlaoise as Laois entertain Offaly at 6 o'clock. 

    Also at 6pm, Westmeath entertain Clare in Mullingar.

  • The Mayo Ladies will be without star basketballer Dayna Finn this weekend for their clash with Armagh in the All-Ireland quarter-finals.


    The Mayo footballer is playing with the Ireland U20 women’s team in Round 2 of the 2019 FIBA U20 Women’s European Championship Division B in Kosovo.


    The Kiltimagh and Mayo Ladies star is vice-captain and the danger woman for the side as they move into the second round of the competition.


    Ireland completed the opening round of the tournament unbeaten, topping their group with wins over Ukraine and Great Britain over the weekend.


    Now, they face into the second round where they go head-to-head with Israel at 3;30 today and Croatia 6pm tomorrow, with a spot in the semi finals up for grabs.


    Mayo manager Peter Leahy described her absence from his team this weekend as a huge loss.


    The Ireland women’s team games

    Wednesday, August 7th


    Game 1, Round 2


    Israel v Ireland, 15.30




    Thursday, August 8th


    Game 2, Round 2


    Ireland v Croatia, 18.00




    Friday, August 9th


    Rest Day




    Saturday, August 10th






    Sunday, August 11th





  • Mayo host Armagh tomorrow evening in Round 3 of the Football qualifiers at Elvery's MacHale Park at 7pm.

    Following a five point win over Down in Newry last weekend manager James Horan makes four changes to this starting team with Michael Plunkett, Donal Vaughan, Fergal Boland & Mikey Murray - who will be making his full championship debut, all named to start. The players to miss out are Colm Boyle, Diarmuid O'Connor(injured), Jason Doherty & Darren Coen.


    1. David Clarke - Ballina Stephenites
      2. Chris Barrett - Belmullet
      3. Brendan Harrison - Aghamore
      4. Keith Higgins - Ballyhaunis
      5. Lee Keegan - Westport
      6. Michael Plunkett - Ballintubber
      7. Patrick Durcan - Castlebar Mitchels(C)
      8. Donal Vaughan - Castlebar Mitchels
      9. Aidan O’Shea - Breaffy
      10. Fionn McDonagh - Westport
      11. Conor Loftus - Crossmolina Deel Rovers
      12. Mikey Murray - Ballina Stephenites
      13. Kevin McLoughlin - Knockmore
      14. Andy Moran - Ballaghaderreen
      15. Fergal Boland - Aghamore
  • All-Ireland Senior Football Qualifiers

    Round 3

    Mayo 2-13 Armagh 1-15


    Mayo will find out their next opponents on Monday morning.

  • All-Ireland Senior Football Championship 

    Round 4

    Roscommon 2-22 
    Armagh 1-19 

  • Roscommon senior football manager Kevin McStay has named his team to face Armagh in the fourth round All Ireland Senior Football Qualifier game to be played on Saturday in Portlaoise.

    The team features a number of changes to the one that started against Galway in the Connacht Final including starts for Ultan Harney, Cathal Cregg and Seán Mc Dermott. Making way for these are an injured Brian Stack while Fintan Cregg and Niall Kilroy are named elsewhere in the match day 26. 

    Seán McDermott makes a return to championship football after not featuring in this year’s Connacht championship. Seán is the most “capped” member of the panel with a total of 46 championship appearances since he made his debut against London in 2005. In fact, after coming on as a sub in that game he started every single championship game Roscommon played from 2005 up to and including the All Ireland Quarter Final Replay against Mayo in 2017.

    Next on that list is his Western Gaels club mate Cathal Cregg who will be making his 40th championship appearance on Saturday and has racked up 3 -43 in championship scores to date.

    Supporters will be delighted to see the return of Cathal Compton to mid field after coming off injured against Galway in the Connacht football final.

    The following players could not be considered due to injury, Brian Stack, Ciaran Lennon, Darra Pettit, Fergal Lennon, and Ronan Stack.

    The Conor Devaney led Roscommon Team is listed below


    1 Colm Lavin

    (Éire Óg)

    2 David Murray

    (Padraig Pearses)

    3 Niall McInerney

    (St Brigid’s)

    4 Seán McDermott

    (Western Gaels)

    5 John McManus

    (Roscommon Gaels)

    6 Peter Domican

    (St Brigid’s)

    7 Conor Devaney (Captain)


    8 Cathal Compton


    9 Tadgh O’Rourke

    (Tulsk Lord Edwards)

    10 Ciaráin Murtagh

    (St. Faithleach’s)

    11 Cathal Cregg

    (Western Gaels)

    12 Enda Smith


    13 Donie Smith


    14 Ultan Harney

    (Clann na nGael)

    15 Diarmuid Murtagh

    (St. Faithleach’s)





    16 James Featherstone

    (Roscommon Gaels)

    17 Conor Daly

    (Padraig Pearses)

    18 Finbar Cregg

    (Western Gaels)

    19 Fintan Cregg


    20 Gary Patterson

    (Michael Glavey’s)

    21 Ian Kilbride

    (St Brigid’s)

    22 Niall Daly

    (Padraig Pearses)

    23 Niall Kilroy


    24 Padraig Kelly

    (St Brigid’s)

    25 Shane Killoran


    26 Tadgh McKenna