The 2018 SPAR FAI Primary Schools 5s Programme concluded on Wednesday afternoon with a dramatic National Finals in Dublin’s Aviva Stadium.

2018’s competition saw 31,728 children take part, with 1,528 schools competing from all around the country. The competition, which is being sponsored for the fourth year by SPAR, saw 13 counties represented in the National Finals on Wednesday.

There has been a 65% increase in participation since 2015, and this year’s competition saw 3,965 teams whittled down through the final 24.

Colin Donnelly, SPAR Sales Director said; “This has been our fourth year involved in the SPAR FAI Primary School 5s Programme and we’re delighted to see the programme has gone from strength to strength and cumulated in a fantastic festival of football in the Aviva Stadium. 

“SPAR are very proud supporters and this is evident by the number of SPAR local retailers who have attended and supported schools at all stages of the programme from county blitzes all the way to the National Finals. 

“Encouraging an active and healthy lifestyle is very important to SPAR and having over 30,000 children enjoying the fitness and social benefits of exercise is very satisfying for us. Finally, huge congratulations to all the schools who competed in the National Finals and thank you to all the family, friends and supporters for making the day so special.”

Seán Carr, FAI Schools Chairman added; “The competition has gone from strength to strength in recent years thanks to the assistance of our sponsors, SPAR. There was an additional 3,000 participants involved this season, taking our total to nearly 32,000 boys and girls. 

The nationwide spread of schools who are choosing to take part, and the increase in female participation, which now stands at over 40% is particularly pleasing. The finals day is a memory that the these players will cherish forever.”

Latnamard NS were victorious in the ‘A’ Cup. The Monaghan school finished unbeaten. They defeated Trafrask NS and Clonlisk NS before drawing their final match against Ardkeeran NS.

It was a double for Ulster schools in the “A’ competitions, as Donegal’s St. Brigid’s NS won the girls section. On four points after two games, the Inishowen school defeated Corrigeenroe’s St. Teresa’s NS in their final game to pip the Roscommon school by a point.

The ‘B’ Cup was the closest competition that took place on the day. Three of the four teams ended on six points, with Dublin’s Gaelscoil Chluain Dolcain winning the title on goal difference ahead of Cork’s Scoil Iosagain and Donegal’s St. Oran’s NS.

Cork’s Clogheen/Kerry-Pike NS were the only school to win three games from three on the day without conceding any goals, as the were victorious in the Girls ‘B’ Competition. The Munster champions defeated Belcarra NS, Scoil Chroine and Rathoe NS.

Raheny’s Scoil Assaim won the ‘C’ Competition, winning all three of their games. The Dublin school defeated Scoil Iosagain, Scoil Iosaif Naofa and Glasheen BNS to win their competition.

Buncrana’s Scoil Iosagain were victorious in the Girls ‘C’ Competition. The only school that had two teams competing the in the National Finals won three from three to claim the title.

Every player that competed were presented with their medals by SPAR Ambassadors Keith Andrews and Megan Campbell.

SPAR FAI Primary School 5s Programme National Finals Results
‘A’ Schools Cup:
Winner: Latnamard NS, Monaghan              
Runner Up: Trafrask NS, Beara, Cork
Third: Clonisk NS, Offaly          
Fourth:  Ardkeeran NS, Riverstown, Sligo            
Player of the Tournament: Thomas Brady (Latnamard NS)

Girls ‘A’ Schools Cup:
Winner: St. Brigid’s NS, Glenmakee, Inishowen, Donegal         
Runner Up:  St. Teresa’s NS, Corrigeenroe, Roscommon     
Third: Crusheen NS, Clare
Fourth: St. Fintan’s NS, Mayglass, Wexford
Player of the Tournament: Ellie Long (St. Brigid’s NS)

‘B’ Schools Cup:
Winner: Gaelscoil Chluain Dolcain, Baile Atha Cliath
Runner Up: Scoil Iosagain, Aghada, Cork
Third: St. Oran’s NS, Cockhill, Inishowen, Donegal
Fourth: Scoil Naisiunta Mhuire, Bawnmore, Galway
Player of the Tournament: Tomas O Muireagain (Gaelscoil Chluain Dolcain)

Girls ‘B’ Schools Cup:
Winner: Clogheen/Kerry-Pike NS, Cork          
Runner Up: Belcarra NS, Mayo
Third: Scoil Chroine, Dungloe, Donegal  
Fourth: Rathoe NS, Carlow
Player of the Tournament: Ellie O’Brien (Clogheen/Kerry-Pike NS)

‘C’ Schools Cup:
Winner: Scoil Assaim, Raheny, Dublin
Runner Up: Scoil Iosaif Naofa, Oranmore, Galway   
Third: Glasheen BNS, Cork   
Fourth: Scoil Iosagain, Buncrana, Inishowen, Donegal           
Player of the Tournament: James Byrne (Scoil Assaim)

Girls ‘C’ Schools Cup:
Winner: Scoil Iosagain, Buncrana, Inishowen, Donegal
Runner Up: Our Lady of Good Counsel GNS, Johnstown, Dublin
Third: St. John’s NS, Breaffy, Mayo
Fourth: St. John the Baptist GNS, Cashel, Tipperary
Player of the Tournament: Jodie Loughrey (Scoil Iosagain)


Latest Sport