Voting is underway since morning on the 12 islands off counties Mayo, Galway and Donegal in the Presidential election and blasphemy referedum.

200 people are eligible to vote on the three Mayo islands of Clare Island, Inisturk and Inisbiggle.

Turnout is quite slow so far, with about 20% of voters having cast their votes up to lunchtime on Inisbiggle, with 14% turnout reported on Clare Island and Inisturk.

Traditionally, island voters have cast their ballots ahead of the mainland to ensure that bad weather or transport difficulties do not delay the return of ballot boxes to the count centres.

Polling stations on the mainland will open from 7am tomorrow morning until 10 pm.

Meanwhile, the broadcast moratorium comes into effect at 2pm this afternoon, ahead of tomorrow's voting.