Former Taoiseach Enda Kenny has been presented with a European of the Year award this afternoon.

The European Movement Ireland is bestowing the honour on the Mayo TD, for his role in strengthening EU-Irish relations.

Taoiseach Leo Varadker presented the award to Deputy Kenny this afternoon, and said Enda Kenny is someone who has always stood up for Ireland and for Europe.

Previous recipients of this award include former Taoisigh Bertie Ahern, Charlie Haughey, John Bruton and Albert Reynolds, along with Tommie Gorman, Adi Roche, Ray McSharry and Michael Smurfit.

While receiving the award in Dublin this afternoon former Taoiseach Enda Kenny launched a scathing attack on the British government, saying he's appalled by politics in the UK.

He said Theresa May's government lacks credibility and clarity when it comes to Brexit.

Mr Kenny also said there should be an extra European Council meeting to sign off on Brexit before the planned October summit.


Latest News