Orders have been made directing that Seanad bye-elections be held to fill vacancies caused by the resignation of Galway-based Trevor O’Clochartaigh and Senator Denis Landy.

Senator O’Clochartaigh was first elected to the Seanad in April 2011 and re-elected in April 2016.

Last November, he left Sinn Fein, citing serious disciplinary issues within the party, and last month, he confirmed he was resigning from the Seanad to take up a job with TG4 in Connemara.

Minister Eoghan Murphy has announced that the last day for receiving nominations for the vacant posts will be 27 March.

Ballot papers will be issued on 13 April, and the poll will close on 27th April.

Members of the Dail and Seanad are eligible to vote in the bye-elections.




Latest News